The “Caroline” pillowcase dress.

I was feeling pretty pleased with myself about the little brown cord skirt, so I very proudly took next door after many (too many to admit) hours and showed to my husband.

We bartered a couple more hours lesson time and got started on my second project, the Caroline dress, by Frog Legs and Ponytails.

I was sold on this adorable pattern when Lil Pip showed me a version she had made for her little girl’s 1st Birthday party a few years ago.

It looked complicated (to me) as a completed dress, but when you read the pattern it is, for the most part, straight pieces of fabric – the neck tie creates the gathered appearance.

Oh, but there was one thing standing in my way.

Bias tape.

This presented two challenges to me:

1. Sewing on a curve – which saw me becoming very well acquainted with the unpicker that afternoon and redoing the armhold bias three times and;

2. Making bias tape – thankfully Jane helped me with a nifty little bias tape maker (similar to this, available at Spotlight for roughly $10 – worth every cent I have come to learn)

I was sent home with my dress 50% complete, the bias tape, remaining fabric for my neck tie, and the instructions.

Homework time!

Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 8.16.20 AM

I got there in the end. How fantastic is that floral fabric?!

I have a weakness for polkadots, too.

I decided to attempt a second version of the same pattern using fabric I had in a leftovers tub from projects before Little A was born. The result isn’t as great as the version above, as the fabric I used was cheaper and much harder to work with.

Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 9.14.37 AM

The trim at the base of the dress is a little wonky.. another lesson under the belt.

Thankfully I made the big mistakes on the one I made solo, and not on the gorgeous fabric Jane gave to me.

Bias tape aside, and you could buy the pre-made stuff if you wanted to, it’s a pretty fail-safe pattern that I know I’ll come back to again and again as A gets bigger.

 

Leave a Reply

