McKensie Dress by Nanoo Designs.

The next project I was given I loved straight away.

The McKensie Dress by Nanoo Designs – so many options!

I had a picture in my head of brown drill and some really retro looking orange fabric.. but of course I couldn’t find what I wanted.

I settled on some brown corduroy and some printed drill, and some quilters cotton.

Oh, hello!

Oh, hello!

Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 11.20.54 AM

A looks pretty happy with the result, don’t you think?

mckensie-dress-anne

Excuse the blurry photo, and the eternally dirty kitchen floor. Pets and babie’s eh!

Do you think I could find some green or white leggings to wear underneath it? No.

I was progressing quite well with this dress until the step where I had to attach the lining to the bodice. Struggletown!

I think next time I make it, I’ll extend the lining of the bodice by an inch, that will make it easier for me to attach it – I’m sure the well seasoned sewers out there wouldn’t have any issue, but seeing as I’m learning something doesn’t line up for me somewhere along the line (cutting skills?).

Oh, and buttonholes. Wow. My machine is a dog’s breakfast when it comes to buttonholes. You better believe I watched YouTube clips, read the manual, googled my little heart out trying to find the trick to perfecting the buttonhole on Ye Olde Brother Machine.

I found out what it is.

Are you ready?

Knock on your neighbours door and beg for her to sew two buttonholes for you on her whizz-bang Janome.

(My birthday is in October.. btw).

Anyway, not put off by the buttonhole fiasco, or the lining struggles, I decided to make another of the McKensie dress for a little girl from Mum’s group.

I love LOVE these fabrics together. Super cute.

I think this one took me twice as long even though it was my second attempt. I wanted it to be perfect.

I have another super tip for finishing your seams, too.

Knock on your neighbours door and beg for her to lend you her whizz-bang Janome overlocker.

WHAT A BEAST.

(It was October, in case you missed it earlier).

DSC_2692-s

DSC_2693_s

 

I love this pattern, too. I want it in my size!

Leave a Reply

